Modest ‘Hijab’ style cliché

Yep, there’s a reason why I put hijab in between apostrophes. I have so much to express about my view of the modern Muslim consumerist fashion. I don’t feel that this post really shows the real ‘hijab’. But it shows, perhaps, a step to modesty when living in the west.

For decades, Muslims in western countries such as the UK have been findings ways not to look outlandish whilst living in a society that follows differing principles to our religion when it comes to how and what to wear.

It’s SO hard!! I’ve spent years (literally) trying to find long enough dresses that could fit for casual days and work without having to attract useless public attention.

Today I share with you an outfit of the day I wore during my best day of the week – Friday!!

_DSC3678.JPG

 

I find that stores in Europe and America nowadays are attempting to bring back modest looking dresses that were so prominent in the last century, particularly the eco-sustainable ethical brands such as Gather&See, COS, Elizabeth Suzann, ARV design and STALF.

Oh and shout out to the Libyan designer Nadinoo!!  .. Her dresses are gorgeous, top quality AND handmade in her very own studio.

Click here  to check them out!

IMG_9076.jpg

Usually, it gets quite tough having to rummage through constant beautifully neutral coloured tops, trousers and dresses in compartment stores that either end up having a design that shows your curves, are transparent in some way or form or that are not necessarily full-sleeved or cover your bum.

For anyone who experiences it, it is a pain in the backside, frankly.

But…thanks to realising that TOAST and other companies do pretty modest dresses, my faith is finally starting to be restored! Some have complained that TOAST sell dresses that are box-like and shapeless. For me, that’s probably exactly the kind of style I’m looking for.

Inside the home, I’m usually the exact opposite and flaunt whatever outfit I really want to wear. It’s so easy. Yet the love of modesty, derived from inner faith and spirituality, means I have to take the more challenging but also more rewarding option ! 🙂

 

_DSC3683.JPG

Henna and black striped dress – TOAST

Boots – Dune

Silk scarf – T.K Maxx

Nude backpack – T.K Maxx

Sometimes, I feel like I was born in the wrong era when it comes to clothes and styles. My favourite has to be from the 1960s/70s………. Those styles make me melt just by looking at them!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Also pretty heart-melting are the 1940s dress fashions!!!

I hope some of you totally get where I’m coming from 🙂

7 Comments

  1. paolsoren says:

    Well, Ella, how opposite can two people get. I am 75, male, Anglican, live in Australia, as far from Scotland as you can get, I don’t care about fashion. But I spent all my life as a teacher and the best kids I ever taught were migrants from Vietnam, Lebanon, Italy and Greece. I am fed up with the whole Islamophobia thing that has developed in some parts of the world and although it is small in Australia it has some very nasty implications. I am not going to agree with you on some things but I am going to like reading your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s fascinating. If you’ve shared stories or are going to share stories about them, I’ll be willing to read them.

      Thanks for your positive vibe. I’d love to know both your agreements and disagreements on some of the things I write !

      One last thing, no matter how opposite we are to each other, we’ll always have something in common – I’m a teacher too! But a much newer budding one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. paolsoren says:

        My last posts about “What’s the matter with them” has a bit to say about teaching.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Ella,
    I love your post. This is very much relateable to me. Although I live in Africa, where it is acceptable to wear islamic clothes as you want, its still not accepted while working for big corporates and such. It is always a struggle for me to try and find work clothes thay are not too ‘baggy’ as this will seem unprofessional amd shabby. I love vintage clothes as well and I usually check brands like modcloth for lovely flowy dresses. I would love to talk to you some other time on this as well and we can discuss ideas on how one can wear modestly without disrupting their faith or professional life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so interesting! I wonder if you’re living in a Muslim African country or what the demographics are for them to be so inclined to use women to impress their business corporations and enterprise. I’m so happy to find someone who loved vintage clothes too! 🙂 that’s so refreshing! I never heard of ModCloth but I had a look through their clothes and they look stunning ! I would love the idea of discussing ways professional women could balance their modest look… the more people know about this the better 🙂 x

      Like

      1. Mi Hi says:

        I live in Tanzania and the culture is pretty diverse here I believe. We are not considered a muslim or a christian country, we don’t have a religious label , which is a blessing in it’s own way. However, you have large corporations that are owned by non- muslims and they don’t stop you from wearing the Hijab, but they do not understand the importance of it. A abaya is also considered a shabby look. I understand to a point, so I try to balance out my clothes.

        We could write a collaboration on views for Muslim women in the professional world, who are not OK to wearing tight or transparent clothes. We would love that.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m totally up for that. I’ll get thinking of ideas for that post. Thanks for the long response! I love letters too by the day x

        Like

Leave a Comment